The Foundation Honors its Circle of Believers

The Circle of Believers Award is the highest recognition bestowed on community members who have provided long-standing support for the FUHS Foundation and its mission. 

 For 2022, the awardee is:

The Foundation is honored to name Polly Bove, our outstanding superintendent who served from 2007 – 2022, as our newest member of the Circle of Believers.  The Foundation thanks Superintendent Bove for her deep commitment to the education of our students, and for her tireless work with the District since 1989, leading us to become one of the highest performing school districts in California. 

She’s been credited with creating special ed programs to help students transition to independent living, as well as increasing teacher retention through collaborative negotiations with the District’s collective bargaining units, and securing financial backing for the District through her strong support of parcel tax & bond measures.

 For 2020, the awardees are:

Barbara Nunes served on the FUHSD Board of Trustees for 16 years (2002-2018). Ms. Nunes is also a former Principal of Cupertino High School, and a long time supporter of the Foundation.


Dianne McKenna is a former Councilwoman and Mayor of Sunnyvale.  She served on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors for 11 years and is one of the founding contributors to the Foundation ‘s Endowment Fund.

Homer Tong served five terms on the FUHSD Board of Trustees, was the highest ticket-seller for the Foundation’s annual fundraiser (Crab Feed), and a major donor to the Foundation Endowment Fund.


 For 2019, the awardees are:

Joe Hamilton image
Laurie Dean image
Nancy Harper image
Richard Lowenthal image

Joe Hamilton

Laurie Dean

Nancy Harper

Richard Lowenthal

Kathee Kraker image
Harry Bettencourt image

        Harry Bettencourt

Chuck Thompson image

Kathee Kraker

Chuck Thompson

Barbara Juhl

We would also like to recognize the late Barbara Juhl for

being the “Queen of the Crab Feed”.